Wednesday, 7 December 2016

More SPHPM grant wins from the Heart Foundation

Earlier in the week we blogged about SPHPM’s Dr Janet Bray and Dr Carol Hodgson being awarded Future Leader Fellowships from the Heart Foundation; and in this blog entry we detail and congratulate  Associate Professors Lisa Moran and Ben Smith for their Heart Foundation funding wins. This caps off a successful period in grant wins for the School, with nearly $17 million in NHMRC funding also announced this week.

Monday, 5 December 2016

NHMRC Funding Recipients Announced

SPHPM received a total of $16,712,006 million in funding for 14 research projects and fellowships in this week’s National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) funding announcement. The School represents the four highest value NHMRC funded research projects across the entire university (as per * in table below).

SPHPM researchers announced successful recipients of the Heart Foundation’s 2017 Fellowships

Today the National Heart Foundation of Australia announced the successful applicants for its 2017 research funding round and numerous SPHPM researchers are deservedly in the mix. A total of $16.9 million involving 90 awards were offered to the Australia’s best and brightest engaged in investigating the causes, treatment and prevention of heart disease and related disorders.  SPHPM’s Dr Janet Bray and Dr Carol Hodgson have both received Future Leader Fellowships to further their innovative cardiovascular research.

Friday, 2 December 2016

SPHPM research uncovers years-long wait common for polycystic ovary syndrome diagnosis

According to a new SPHPM study published in the Endocrine Society’s Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, nearly two in three women were dissatisfied with the length of time they waited and the number of healthcare professionals they had to see before they received a diagnosis of polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). Nearly half of the 1,385 women surveyed saw three or more healthcare providers before they were diagnosed and the diagnostic process took more than two years for a third of the survey respondents.

Wednesday, 30 November 2016

Dr Helen Ackland awarded top teaching gong

A big congratulations to SPHPM’s Dr Helen Ackland for her recent Monash Student Association (MSA) Teaching Award. These annual awards are a joint initiative of the MSA and the Office of the Vice-Provost (Learning & Teaching), presented to outstanding teaching staff as chosen by students. As the peak representative body for students at Clayton, the MSA believes in acknowledging staff who make such a positive contribution to the teaching experience of students.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...