Thursday, 28 January 2016

Inaugural John Zalcberg OAM Award announced at AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting

At the recent Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG) Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) SPHPM’s Head of Cancer, Professor John Zalcberg, was honoured with the announcement of the inaugural John Zalcberg OAM Award for Excellence in AGITG research.

At the 17th Annual Meeting held in Sydney last September, the AGITG recognised Professor Zalcberg’s significant contribution to the trials group, of which he was a founding member, and served as the AGITG Board Chair for 18 years.

Professor Zalcberg’s clinical research interests include gastrointestinal cancer and health care outcomes. He was a Principal Investigator for the European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) advanced gastrointestinal stromal tumour (GIST) trial in Australia and continues an active involvement in trials in this disease as well as other gastrointestinal cancers.

The John Zalcberg OAM Award for Excellence in AGITG Research recognises a member of the Australasian Gastro Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG) who has made a significant and outstanding leadership contribution to AGITG research over a sustained period.

The Selection Committee consisted of AGITG Chair Associate Professor Tim Price, Ms Christine Bishop, Ms Christine Liddy AO, Professor David Watson and Professor Ian Olver.

At the AGITG ASM, the latest cutting-edge research and evidence based treatments were presented, and the first recipient of the award went to the current Chair of the AGITG Consumer Advisory Panel Dan Kent, who has served in the role since the panel was first established in 2008.

Professor Zalcberg’s has published more than 230 articles in peer-reviewed journals and is the recipient of numerous reputable awards including the Medal of the Order of Australia Award (OAM), the Medical Oncology Group of Australia’s Cancer Achievement Award in 2011, and the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia’s Tom Reeve Award for Outstanding Contributions to Cancer Care in 2014.

He is currently the Co-Chair of the Cancer Drugs Alliance (CDA) and Interim Chair of the Australian Clinical Trials Alliance (ACTA).

He has served as Director of Medical Oncology at the Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital, as well as Director of Cancer Services at the Austin and Repatriation Medical Centre, and before joining SPHPM served as Director of Cancer Medicine at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre for 17 years.

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...