Thursday, 17 March 2016

SPHPM celebrates staff and students in annual awards ceremony

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 SPHPM Excellence Awards!

This year the SPHPM Excellence Awards were an afternoon affair, and featured a very special guest-speaker, the new Chancellor of Monash University, Simon McKeon AO. Staff and students were delighted by the opportunity to hear the new Chancellor address the School, acknowledging SPHPM’s outstanding contribution to teaching, research and public health.

“The Excellence Awards are an opportunity to reward our hardworking staff, students and researchers and to showcase the high calibre work coming out of the School,” Professor John McNeil, Head of SPHPM, said.

This year there was also a record number of nominations on behalf of staff and students across the 15 categories, attesting to the collaborative and supportive community cultivated at the School. The Excellence Awards recognise and reward outstanding achievements and accomplishments in teaching and research.

Following the welcome by Professor McNeil, the Chancellor Professor Simon McKeon addressed the School. Professor Sue Davis announced the research awards, followed by Professor Flavia Cicuttini with the teaching awards. Associate Professor Dragan Ilic presented the undergraduate awards to students, and Professor Rory Wolfe concluded the ceremony announcing the winners of the higher degree by research awards. Professor Davis closed the ceremony and warmly congratulated the staff and students on their achievements.

“I congratulate all award winners on their dedication and their important contributions to scientific research, teaching and the fields of preventive medicine and public health.

“The School is home to great minds and great work – it is important that we provide the opportunity to acknowledge our achievements,” Professor McNeil said.

Research Awards:

Mid Career Researcher Excellence: Yuanyuan Wang

Early Career Researcher Excellence: Andrew Udy (Excellence) & Thach Tran (Damien Jolley Award)

Mid Career Researcher Best Paper: Donna Urquhart

Early Career Researcher Best Paper: Jessica Harding

Teaching Awards:

Teaching Excellence: Tessa Keegel

Tutoring Excellence: Evie Kendal

Teaching and Research Support: Maria La China

Undergraduate Awards:

Top student for SPHPM BHealthScience(Hons): Cassie de Lacy-Vawdon

Top student for SPHPM BBiomed(Hons): Oliver Huse

Top student for SPHPM BMedSci(Hons): Meth Delpachitra

Higher Degree Research Awards:

Thesis Excellence Award: Dr Joseph Doyle, Dr Victoria Mar and Dr Elizabeth Kilgour

Best Paper Award: Ms Alexandra Chung

Nancy Millis Medal: Dr Angela Rintoul

Outstanding contribution to the program: Cassandra Wright

Higher Degree Research Supervision Award: Associate Professor Dianna Magliano

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...